Chinchillaaaaaa

May 2, 2008

Connect

Filed under: computers, expanding technology, impact of technology — chinchilla1511 @ 9:01 pm

My favorite part of technology is the fact that it helps me connect with people. I just finished having a conference/3-way call with my old roomates from college so that we could all be updated on each others lives. Last week, my friend informed me that she bought a Mac computer and now has iChat. I’m contemplating buying a webcam just so I can chat with her from across the country.

My parents don’t understand instant messager at all. They think that it is a waste of time. “Why not just pick up the phone and talk to the person,” is what my father always says when he sees me typing away. What he doesn’t understand is that I can be talking to half a dozen people at one time from different parts of the state or country. I can stay in contact with people that I wouldn’t normally call on the phone. The Internet makes things more casual, more realxed, and easier to connect with people.

Facebook. Myspace. Blogs. Personal Webpages. All things that make your life more visibile to the world in both a positive and negative sense. Ignoring the negative effects, these types of websites are another way to connect with old and new friends. Despite the creepy fact that people who you normally wouldn’t share personal info with now know every detail of your daily life, it allows acquaintences to get to know you better. As Dr. Ransom pointed out that these blogs allow him to know us on a more personal level outside of class, technology has allowed us to skip the meaningless chit chat of playing “catch up” and read those details online.

1 Comment »

  1. Hi matey….
    I love the fact that we can all connect in more “unusual ways”. I find it very fasinating and thrilling. My “typing classes” sure paid off when I was in High School a hundred years : ) ago….
    The feature I am most thrilled with is webcam and utilizing it with friends far away.. My son is going to Okinawa for four years on the 20th of this month, it is gong to be a long four years… we both have webcams on our laptops and will be able to connect any time we want. Dr. Ransom has given me such great ideas and sites we can use to help us diminish the distance between us.
    Keep on chatting.. It is all good… see ya in class. Deb

    Comment by debrogala — May 4, 2008 @ 10:16 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.